I’m OK With Vajayjay

Hobby Lobby

President Obama Tweets: “Throwback to last week when a woman—not her boss—made her own decisions about her health care.”

I’m not one for neologisms. I don’t anticipate vacays or ask if friends are preggers. But today, I’m adopting vajayjay. I’m admittedly late to the vajayjay party. But it’s a good day to join.

Today, the Supreme Court ruled that some businesses can’t be required to pay for contraceptive-providing healthcare. Like other businesses are. All in the name, Hobby Lobby and its ilk would have us believe, of religious liberty. It’s a line that smacks of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale.

Also today, Mary at Thirtytensomething responded to talk show host and misogynist Matt Lauer’s interview skills. Mary’s rant would have been humorous any day, but today it stays with me. We are a culture so saturated with disrespect for women that treating women unfairly is mainstream. It’s on The Today Show. Presumably a show about what we’re like today.

What we’re like today isn’t something to like. Matt Lauer’s interview with GM CEO Mary Barra is one snapshot. Here’s another snapshot, this one of Hobby Lobby “supporters” cheering SCOTUS’s decision today. What does that sign at bottom right even mean? Without contraceptives, how do I “manage” my fertility? I’m not familiar with that method. Do I mystically will my fertility away?

Hobby Lobby supporters react to Supreme Court decision

Hobby Lobby “supporters”

Today Mary’s riposte to Matt Lauer is like that catchy bird song in The Hunger Games. Or something. I don’t really know because I haven’t seen the movies and I can’t remember much about the books. I remember a heroine who falls in love a few times while killing others to survive a game and a government. I’d like to admire the heroine’s revolutionary role but what I remember is her love story. And her impressively braided hair.

Such is our collective expectation of women: we are a love story. We are to fall into love/sex, childbearing, caretaking, quiet disappearance. Not into the role of CEO or into the role of workers who expect equal access to healthcare.

Today is not a day to be quiet. So I’m ok with vajayjay because I need to embrace my body in every way. Because I don’t want to be embraced by the Commander from Atwood’s dystopic novel, or Hobby Lobby CEO David Green. I don’t want to be embraced by anyone not of my choosing.

It’s my vajayjay.

2 thoughts on “I’m OK With Vajayjay

  1. I am hereby formally boycotting Hobby Lobby. I’ve been creep out by them for years, so it’s no big leap to make it formal. But since the bigger problem is SCOTUS, it is probably an empty gesture. Keep up the good work, Spring. The patriarchy can only stave off girl power in dribs and drabs; they’ll never stem the tide…

    • Thanks Lanie for both your words here and solidarity. I’ve too have avoided Hobby Lobby since this all began. But I wouldn’t call our boycotts empty. Like words, gestures matter. Especially financially-impacting gestures in a commodity culture!

Please leave a reply

